So my mum recommended this Verity Bright series to me, and having loved the first, she and I found ourselves reading book six simultaneously. We thought you may enjoy two perspectives on this one!

Kel’s review:

I leapt from book 1 (thanks mum) to book 6 (thanks Netgalley) and thoroughly enjoyed it! I’m looking forward to catching up on the ones between because the characters are delightful though you don’t need to have read the series to appreciate “Murder at the Fair”. Set in 1921, in the English countryside, our lead, Lady Swift, finds herself at the centre of the village fair. Whilst trying correctly attended to her duties, she uncovers the body of the local undertaker. Feeling instinctively that there is more afoot than an accident, she swiftly becomes involved in solving the case…much to the disgruntlement of the local constabulary and beau Detective Inspector Seldon.

As in all good cosy mysteries, the characters are delightful! These are people who the reader loves to return to again and again to see what they are doing and where they are. Clifford the butler is a favourite but is outshone by Gladstone, the bulldog, for me!

Romping across the countryside, ruffling feathers, Lady Swift finds herself in peril more than once making it a book that difficult to put down! I loved it start to finish! It’s a five out of five on the enJOYment scale!

Ka’s review:

I really enjoyed the previous books in this series and so was just a little nervous as to what I should expect this time round. It didn’t disappoint.

The more complicated storyline kept me intrigued throughout. Yes, I said to myself you got that part right. Then it was, “Oh no, really,” when I just didn’t see that bit coming! Well done indeed.

For me the spring cleaning of Henley Hall added a lovely down-to-earth aspect! Who knew owing a vacuum cleaner could create such excitement. It’s so easy to forget the difference these household appliances made to so many people’s lives, We take for granted just how much easier many of us have it these days. I too name many of the important objects in my life.. Heaven help me if I meet a Victor. I laughed out loud in certain places, as the author related this aspect of the story.

Unsurprisingly, the well intentioned investigation of a number of murders, results in some of the locals getting just a little hot under the collar and even brings her into conflict with the romantic interest. But Ellie, and her trusty butler persevere and, in the end the reward is worth their effort

Its Book 6, and I hope we continue onward and upward.

PS: Perhaps just a little more progress in the romance department, please! I love that its not front and centre but even I have to admit it needs chivying along just a little!

We received complimentary copies of the book from Bookouture through NetGalley. The opinions expressed in these reviews are completely our own.

From the back cover:

Summer flowers, warm sunshine, a maypole dance and… is that another murder? A tricky case is afoot for Lady Swift!

Summer, 1921. Lady Eleanor Swift, the best amateur sleuth in the country, is delighted to be in charge of the prize-giving at her village summer fair. But the traditional homemade raft race takes a tragic turn when the local undertaker, Solemn Jon, turns up dead amongst the ducks. Jon was the life of any party and loved by the entire village. Surely this was simply an awful accident?

But when a spiteful obituary is printed in the local paper, Eleanor realises there may be more to Jon’s death than first thought. Despite handsome Detective Seldon giving her strict instructions not to interfere, Eleanor owes it to Jon’s good name to root out the truth. So with her partner in crime, Gladstone the bulldog, Eleanor starts digging for clues…

When another local dies in a riding accident, the police refuse to believe he was murdered. But a second vindictive death notice convinces Eleanor of foul play. Solemn Jon’s assistant, a bullish banker and a majestic marquess make her suspect list, but it isn’t until she finds a dusty old photograph that she knows the true culprit behind both crimes. Then another obituary appears – her own! Can Eleanor nail the killer before she too turns up dead among the ducks?

An utterly compelling and charming cozy mystery! Pure delight for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

2 Replies to “Book Review: Murder at the Fair by Verity Bright

    1. We would absolutely LOVE that! We’d love to help everyone to find your books – we just adore them! Thank you for creating such happy enjoyment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.