I’m not sure what I was expecting when I picked up Around the World in 80 Trees by Jonathan Drori but it has far exceeded my expectations and I have every intention of rereading it! It’s a fantastic combination of information, anecdotes, humour and environmental concerns.

Each tree has it’s own profile highlighting its key aspects, history and impact on the world. I chuckled at the description of “befuddled bees” beneath the Lime tree drunk on the nectar. I wondered at the use of cork on the roads of London to ease the travel of horses and carriages. I now burble over with these and many more fabulous facts about trees!

However, I am shocked at the damage humans can do to our environment. Several of the trees discussed have suffered drastically at the hands of human greed. They now, of course, are under pressure from global warming.

In summary, I came away in awe of the amazing way of nature. Each tree has been so beautifully designed and created by God and it works harmoniously with all around it. I loved this book from cover to cover and highly recommend it! It’s five out of five on en-JOY-ment.

From the back cover:

Bestselling author and environmentalist Jonathan Drori follows in the footsteps of Phileas Fogg as he tells the stories of 80 magnificent trees from all over the globe. 

In Around the World in 80 Trees, Jonathan Drori uses plant science to illuminate how trees play a role in every part of human life, from the romantic to the regrettable. From the trees of Britain, to India’s sacred banyan tree, they offer us sanctuary and inspiration – not to mention the raw materials for everything from aspirin to maple syrup. 

Stops on the trip include the lime trees of Berlin’s Unter den Linden boulevard, which intoxicate amorous Germans and hungry bees alike, the swankiest streets in nineteenth-century London, which were paved with Australian eucalyptus wood, and the redwood forests of California, where the secret to the trees’ soaring heights can be found in the properties of the tiniest drops of water. 

Each of these strange and true tales – populated by self-mummifying monks, tree-climbing goats and ever-so-slightly radioactive nuts – is illustrated by Lucille Clerc, taking the reader on a journey that is as informative as it is beautiful. The book combines history, science and a wealth of quirky detail – there should be surprises for everyone. 

Perfect for fans of Peter Wohlleben’s The Hidden Life of Trees, this new book will certainly whet the appetite of any tree lover to take an around-the-world trip, or simply visit your local botanic garden. The perfect travel guide for nature enthusiasts.

I received a complimentary copy of the book from Laurence King Publishing Ltd. through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.